Ora et Labora

Pray and work – That has been my motto for most of my life and its one that has served me well. Its really a simple formula if you think about it – pray , work hard and leave the rest to God .

Except now in my work life , i feel severely that it fails me. Iam a mother and a wife with a career out of the home that i love. I have tried ( albeit imperfectly ) to serve my home and my workplace to the best of my ability but – –

I have been feeling stuck for a long time. Stuck and stunted as i have come to the realisation that for me to progress in this career i must invest amounts of time and energy that would cost my family a great deal which is not something am willing to do.

I know this very well yet it does not sting any less when people i coached in college continue to progress while i
remain stuck ( there’s that word again) at entry level or bachelors 3 years my junior make senior while am on maternity leave and all the work i do when am present does not seem to count.

I have prayed and prayed and prayed……but for now i feel as if God is silent on the subject or has pretty much
closed that door for me . My husband says this is my cross , my way to heaven but it still hurts a lot .

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Mrs. Korf

     /  April 5, 2011

    Ever thought maybe God is answering you. He’s tell you that your family is more important than work and you need to focus on them for a while longer. Might not be the answer you want to hear.

    Reply
  2. Mrs. Korf

     /  April 6, 2011

    I know it is. I’m getting the feeling he’s telling me I need a baby even if I feel like I’m not ready. I won’t be surprised if I get a little surprise one month soon. He has told me “work isn’t going to work out for you. You’re going to stay home.” Now I’m getting the feeling he’s going to push me into motherhood soon.

    Reply
  3. I think this is a harder struggle to actually walk than to just think or talk about. I am very competitive and like to achieve alongside ‘the boys’ and even though I’ve known my family would come first and if I were ever to be blessed with a family that I would want to stay home with them, I think that it would be a very, very difficult decision to have to actually make.
    I think your husband is a wise man.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

